1. United States of America
  2. Massachusetts
  3. Williamstown
  4. Cozy Private Room in Williamstown

Cozy Private Room in Williamstown

1br privateroom
Williamstown,Massachusetts,United States of America
  • Parking
Excellent245 reviews
airbnb$40 - $60

Description

The Space

My home sits on the slope of a hill surrounded on two sides by trees, with a bit of wooded area in the back. We are in northern Berkshire county, on a very quiet street away from the center of town. Near Sterling & Francine Clark Art Museum, Williams College and Museum, Williamstown Theatre Festival, MCLA, MASS MoCA. There's a great local food co-op (Wild Oats Market), lots of hiking trails (including Mt Greylock), theater in the summers . . . it's generally a beautiful area. Directly up my street, a few minutes walk from my home, is the entrance to the Pine Cobble hiking trail. You would rent the sitting room / spare bedroom at the front of the house, which has a double futon bed with a memory-foam mattress topper. Your bedroom has direct access to the shared bathroom. (There is a separate entrance to the bathroom from the front hall.) It is a cozy sort of room with 2 windows, but somewhat spacious, with a large bookshelf full of books that you are welcome to read during your stay. In the summer months, I put a window fan in the back window of your room for some cool air during the warmer times.

Guest Access

My house is 2 floors, 1 1⁄2 baths, plus basement. You would have use of the common areas of the house (living room to relax; dining room to eat meals; bathroom of course; the kitchen to cook if you like; the front porch to sit in warm weather. It's homey here, and comfortable as long as you are happy sleeping on a futon with a 1.5 inch memory foam topper! (NOTE: This is a futon mattress, not a regular mattress. If you will not be comfortable sleeping on a futon mattress with a 1.5 inch memory foam topper, please look elsewhere for accommodations!) You can use my wireless internet and, if needed, the laundry facilities in the basement. You would share the bathroom with, primarily, my nice roommate whose bedroom is on the opposite side of the house. I use the main bathroom just really for showers as I don't have a shower in my 1/2 bath upstairs.

Interaction with Guests

I am an artist / poet with a part-time outside job, and I usually have a pleasant roommate whose bedroom is on the opposite side of the house from yours. You would possibly see us randomly, mostly around breakfast or dinner time. PLEASE NOTE: We are clean, but not pristinely clean; we are comfortably orderly! We're relaxed and friendly. Very neat folks may find my house a bit cluttered (stack of books on the coffee table; a children's shelf with an assortment of kid's reading and play materials in the front entrance room; my sewing machine in the dining room open with my sewing materials ready for action.) I don't provide breakfast for you, but I sometimes like to bake (and you will be welcome to share), and I have a little coffee maker and coffee in the dining room for you to use, along with a selection of teas, and a friendly little red tea kettle in the kitchen to heat your water. I leave a collection of informational materials (in a basket in your room) that may help you to plan your activities, and you can ask me if you have questions about the area or if you like to chat. But, I am also happy to leave you to your privacy. And I leave a small card on the bureau in your room with my various contact information, in case you might need to speak to me while I am out of the house. (I am at my 9-5 job 4 days per week.)

The Neighborhood

The house is on a dead-end and very quiet road, with only 4 houses on the street, and so traffic is minimal. In nice weather, the enclosed front porch is a very pleasant place to relax; in winter, there is plenty of room there for storage of skis. My driveway is small, but will fit 2 cars side by side and another car behind mine. You would probably be parking beside my car on the right side of the driveway. (My roommate will probably park behind my car on the left side.) We have a local railway nearby, which is not a passenger rail. It passes close enough to my house to make some noise, so you may hear (unless you are used to it, as I am) the train passing in the evening on its regular schedule.

Getting Around

We have the BRTA (Berkshire Regional Transit Authority) which runs buses on a regular schedule to and from the local cities/towns, but does not run after dinnertime, and only about once an hour. If you are arriving by bus or train, you would be dropped off at the Williams Inn, which is, perhaps, a 30/35-minute walk (but a nice one) to my house. The Williams Inn is not a bus terminal, but is a stop for Peter Pan bus lines with a waiting area inside the inn.

Other Things to Note

1. Please note: If T Mobile is your cell phone carrier, you will likely have trouble with reception in our area! My guests who have T Mobile complain of not being able to use their phones while visiting. 2. Folks sometimes have trouble finding my road, as it is not always included in online maps or gps. I will send you specific directions to find my house a couple of days before you will be arriving. These directions have been very helpful to others, and should be helpful to you as well! 3. I do not offer breakfast. There is a tiny fridge in your room, and I stock it with a few juices and water, and also an assortment of granola-type snack bars in a bowl on top of the fridge. And you are welcome to help yourself to the coffee and tea in the dining room. When I happen to make some muffins to share, I will put them under a glass-dome covered plate in the dining room near the coffee and tea area. Any other food in the kitchen or pantry belongs to myself or my roommate, and is not for sharing. If your fridge space in the room is not enough to store some of your own food, however, you will be welcome to put some things in the kitchen fridge . . . though it does tend to be pretty full.

Millions of people are using Airbnb to sleep in strangers' homes, beds, and even couches. They have an amazing selection and you can't find their stuff anywhere else. There is a catch: you often need to contact several hosts to actually get a place to stay, so make sure you give yourself some lead time.
Amenities
  • Internet
  • Wifi
  • Kitchen
  • Free parking on premises
  • Heating
  • Family/kid friendly
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Smoke detector
  • Carbon monoxide detector
  • First aid kit
  • Essentials
  • Shampoo
  • Hangers
  • Hair dryer
Bedrooms
1
Sleeps
2 - Futon
Bathrooms
1

Place's rules

I do not accept smoking in the house, not at all. In general, I say "no pets" but, if you have a pet who you really want to accompany you, you can let me know, and I can decide if I can accommodate. I am much more a "cat person" than a "dog person!" But I have sometimes had a very quiet dog in the house. Williamstown is a recycling community (paper, plastic, metal) and so, if you have recyclable materials to dispose of I have bins for that in the kitchen, or you can just leave the recyclable materials (along with your other trash) in the room and I can take care of them. This is a quiet house and area. Please be considerate and refrain from any loud activity in the later evening. After 10 pm, we are normally settling down for the night. After 11 pm, it is QUIET TIME! We need to get up for work the next morning! The living room is available for relaxation, but you may not sleep on my sofa! If you will not be comfortable sleeping on a futon mattress with a 1.5 inch memory foam topper, please look for other accommodations. Sometimes, if you are bringing a child along, we can arrange a "sleeping place" on the floor of your room to accommodate.
Checkin time
2:00 PM
Checkout time
12:00 PM

Reviews & Ratings

Overall Score: Excellent100% - 245 reviews
Is this your place?
  • Claim your property page and access your free AllTheRooms for Property Owners account.
  • Update business information
  • Respond to reviews and privately message customers
  • See the customer leads your property page generates
  • Monitor how many people view your property page
Claim this listing
Thank you! Your property claim is finished. Please wait for us to contact you to confirm ownership.